Turkey Pumpkin Chili!

Ok people. Now that the weather seems to finally be cooling down, are you read for the ultimate fall chili recipe? Yes, it includes pumpkin. No, I probably won’t post many more recipes, but this one is a must!

If you don’t like all things “pumpkin spice” during the fall, I still encourage you to try this. My whole immediate family was skeptical and pretty much refused to try it because they “don’t like pumpkin flavor.” Well one night I had them over for dinner and secretly made it, and they all LOVED IT! My sister and mom also asked for the recipe. BOO YAH!

So here it is:

2 lbs ground turkey

1 onion, chopped

1 28 oz can diced tomatoes

1 c pumpkin puree

2-4 tbl hot sauce*

1 16 oz can great northern beans*

2 tbl chili powder

2 tsp pumpkin pie spice

1 tsp brown sugar

1 tsp salt

1 tsp pepper

*You can add more hot sauce if you’re into it. I just don’t like too much of that flavor. I kind of just dump it in there until I’ve had enough, so the measurements aren’t exact.
You can also use kidney beans, but I like white beans with this chili.

Food process that onion (or fight the tears and chop it up yourself). Throw it in a stock pot with the ground turkey and cook on med-high heat until turkey is cooked. Drain. Add all other ingredients, give it a stir, bring it to a boil, then reduce heat and let it simmer for an hour, stirring occasionally.

It’s seriously SO. GOOD.

Let me know if you make it and what you think!! 🙂

IMG_2954.JPG

One thought on “Turkey Pumpkin Chili!

Leave a Reply

