Childcare/Working Woes

I’ve been working since my son was just 6 weeks old. 6 weeks?! I had to put him in daycare, because unfortunately we can’t afford for me to stay home.

Daycare didn’t work out so well, so after 8 months, we got a nanny. She’s been there a couple of weeks, and today I put in a nanny cam. Ugh, wow.

So far today she’s left him to cry in his crib for an hour. She came in a couple times just to pick him up and lay him back down. I just want to scream “HE DOESN’T WANT TO NAP!!!” Maybe the camera was a bad idea, but I’m heart broken seeing him cry for so long.

The camera died (iPad, not an actual camcorder) shortly after that.

Im sick to my stomach over what I saw. Am I overreacting? Should I tell her we have a camera? Maybe she’s not as upset over his cries because he’s not her baby. Maybe she is one of those “cry it out” subscribers. Well I’m not and I wish we were on the same page.

I recently took a personality test at work and turns out I’m not ok with conflict, so I really don’t know how to go about dealing with this.

I just want to be a stay at home mom. On my lunch breaks I go to the park some days and see moms there with their kids. I wish so badly that were me. 😦

Any advice or encouragement is appreciated. TGIF at least!

7 thoughts on “Childcare/Working Woes

  1. So sorry, how awful. I would have a frank discussion about it. I know you don’t like conflict but let the tiger mama come out in you as you are advocating for your son. If you can’t / don’t want to mention the camera can you say neighbours have been hearing a lot of crying and you want to be clear that you are not happy with cry it out and THIS is how he is to fall asleep and when etc? If you are sure she is not right though, get rid. So sorry it must be so, so stressful xx

    • Thank you. I really need to be more assertive about this! I did watch the recording when I got home, and he wasn’t crying the whole time, more like whining, and she did go in and try rocking him more than I initially saw. But still. He clearly wanted out of that crib! Thankfully these next 2 weeks my husband will be home with her (teacher break) while doing his side job so he can observe/correct things! Ugh. Thank you for the support! x

  2. I have twins that are 5 and a 4 year old and have been working since they were born. Long story short my life has changed and we are now working towards getting me out of the workforce. I can tell you that I would have sold everything I had to stay home and wish I had someone speak truth into my life back then. I speak to so many working women now and try and help them as much as I possibly can!

    • I’m hoping someday that can be me! But with a husband who is a teacher in one of the lowest paying states in the country, it’s not looking like it will happen any time soon. We have student loans we are both paying back, and with our mortgage and other bills it’s just too much. I wish you well and hope you are able to leave the workforce! Thank you for the encouragement! 🙂

Leave a Reply

