Long Drives and Big Surprises

This past 4th of July weekend I happened to get an extra day off, so I had a 4 day weekend. We (well, mostly me. Took a lot of convincing my husband!) spontaneously decided to drive up to NY (10+ hours) to surprise our family. What a great idea! It was great, minus the driving/displacement.

Off we go!

Off we go!

We packed up the car (the dog came too!) and left Wednesday evening and got to central PA. We decided to stay there for the night and drive the last 3.5 hours in the morning. Fine. Our son did pretty well in the car and slept a lot of the time. We packed up the car and got to our final destination on Thursday around 12pm (my parents house) and everyone was so happy to see us! We told everyone (minus the in-laws, their surprise came later). They all came over to see us, and I got to eat one of my favorite pizzas. We went to my grandma’s house that evening, more people came over, we passed the baby around, and ate more food.

At least baby boy was happy after all that driving!

At least baby boy was happy after all that driving!

Friday we packed up the car again and left to head to the lake to surprise my in-laws. We had my brother-in-law take the baby in and pretend he found him on the side of the road! My father-in-law didn’t recognize his grandson, and thought he had another new grandson on his hands! Finally his wife (my husband’s step mom. I don’t know what to call her? Step-mother-in-law? Or just mother-in-law I guess) said “That’s Maxwell!” and we came down the road a few minutes later. By this point I was totally exhausted. The long drive, and then baby boy was up every 1-2 hours in the night. So, hubby and the fam went down on the dock, and I slept for 3 HOURS! Much needed. I felt better. We had dinner and they all went to a nearby winery while hubby and I stayed in with the baby. We were going to get in the hot tub, but alas, the baby started crying as soon as we were about to change into our suits. *sigh*

Fun down on the dock! 4th of July.

Fun down on the dock! 4th of July.

The next morning we packed up the car (again!) and left to go to my sister’s house for a cookout, but first stopped at a friend’s house for a bit. We got to my sister’s and ate more food, passed the baby around some more, and left that evening from there to start our trek back down to NC. We stayed in central PA again that night. Sunday morning we packed up the car for the last time and made it to NC around 4pm. The last hour of the trip was when we were all over being in the car! The baby fussed and cried the whole time. We were all so happy to be home, and all of us went to bed early, including the dog!

Home at last!

Home at last!

All in all, it was a fun trip, but all the driving and packing and unpacking got pretty old after a while! And we are doing it all again in a few weeks for a NY wedding. Whew. Hopefully we regain feeling in our butts by then from all that sitting in the car!

Leave a Reply

