My Week As A Single Mom: DAY 7!!!

I DID IT! In just a few hours hubby will be home and I will have survived my first week alone with the baby! Just in time for Father’s Day this weekend!

All in all, it wasn’t so bad, just exhausting like I imagined it would be. Luckily we have a pretty good baby on our hands. He went to bed when he was supposed to, wasn’t overly fussy, and slept pretty well through the night (up 1-2 times–nothing new or worse). I’d say the worst part was getting up at 5 every day and taking him to daycare. Don’t get me wrong, I actually liked taking him there, I just didn’t like the longer commute to work.

I had some help from my neighbors and aunt-in-law, so I wasn’t totally alone. I definitely have much appreciation for and give credit to the truly single moms out there, military moms, and even stay at home moms (the weekends were the hardest when I was with him all day and all night!). You rock! Don’t let anyone tell you any different.

At the end of the week, here’s how things ended up:

Exhaustion level:
8 out of 10

Explosive diaper clean ups:
1.5 (carseat clean up is 0.5)

Times peed on:
me – 3 baby – 4

Times pooped on:
0.5 (I got lucky with this one, having only gotten a bit on my hand/arm!)

Times spit-up on: too many (luckily the dog likes to clean it up!! Gross, I know.)

Days the dog has been neglected of play time: 1 (honestly shocked about this one!)

Average times up during the night: 2 (typical)

Naps (me, not baby): 2

Rooms cleaned: 3 (more than I thought would happen)

Loads of laundry: 3 (all baby, none mine, though there seems to be A LOT LESS laundry when hubby is gone…)

I hope you enjoyed reading about my week of full time mommy-ing, and hopefully there won’t be another one for a while! Stay tuned for my next series on “Why I wish my husband would leave me alone.” Just kidding!! 😉

yes-i-did-it

Leave a Reply

