My Week As A Single Mom: Days 1 & 2

So my husband is in upstate New York for a week, which means I am taking care of our about-to-be-5-months-old baby boy. AKA no help with mid-night feedings, changing diapers, cleaning the house, running errands, taking care of the dog, etc. I’m basically a single mom.

I  have given much credit to single moms ever since I was home alone all day while on maternity leave. Now I give them even more credit–especially moms with multiple children! I am lucky enough to have a husband who is a very hands on dad. Maybe that’s why I’m so upset that he is gone.

It’s not that I can’t take care of the baby on my own, or that it is all that difficult, but it is just EXHAUSTING and a lot of work. Where my husband would be the one to take our son to daycare and pick him up (it is on his way to work), it is now my responsibility. My commute used to be 45 minutes each way (long enough!), and it is now an hour and a half. Where we would take turns occupying the baby while the other could clean, eat, shower, etc, I now have to hope he takes a nap at an opportune time so I can get one of those things accomplished. Where he would sometimes take a bottle to our son in the middle of the night so I could sleep, I can not rely on that if I am too tired. You get the point.

Here’s where I’m at so far:

Exhaustion level: 7 out of 10 (already, I know)

Explosive diaper clean ups: 0 (unless you count the one at daycare when he was in the car seat that the teacher had to clean him up)

Times peed on: me – 1  baby – 2

Times pooped on: 0 (thankfully, so far)

Times spit-up on: let’s not even keep track of this one

Days the dog has been neglected of play time: 1

Average times up during the night: 2

Naps: 0

Rooms cleaned: 0

Loads of laundry: 2

Stay tuned to keep track of my sanity until hubby comes home next week!! Feel free to comment if you can relate, or to tell me I need to suck it up.

Leave a Reply

