Pump Up the Volume

I exclusively breast feed and I work full time, which means I have to pump at work. I. HATE. IT. I am all for giving my baby the nutrition he needs, but pumping just sucks!

Take this morning, for example. I got to work and I was already full because my son ALMOST slept through the night (I only nursed him once…and probably just jinxed myself). I’m in my office and a few coworkers come in and we are talking about non-work related things, and I know I am only getting more and more full with each passing minute, but I don’t want to kick everyone out so I can pump. A) It’s kind of embarrassing, and B) I’m enjoying the conversation. Finally after about a half hour everyone leaves (I honestly was seconds away from kicking them out—I couldn’t handle it much longer!), and I put my little “do not disturb” sign on the door and break out the pump.

Well it’s a good thing they left when they did, because I had already leaked through my bra and luckily was wearing two shirts because I’d also leaked through the first one! I ended up pumping 21oz!! That’s usually what I have at the end of the day! Talk about ready to burst!

I usually pump every 3 hours. I don’t want to, but I know I have to or my supply will go down. That’s the thing. I wish I could just go all day without having to pump, but it will affect my supply (not to mention I will most definitely need to bring a few extra shirts!). I don’t know how stay at home moms who only need to breast feed and hardly ever offer a bottle do it. Some women I know don’t even own a pump. Even on the weekends if we are away from home and somewhere I can’t nurse for more than 4 hours, I have to pump as soon as I get home or my breasts will be rocks! I also am prone to clogged ducts. Maybe I have an oversupply issue??

Pumping alone isn’t even the issue. It’s that plus having to clean all the parts every time! Ugh, it’s all just the worst.

I read once that pumping can make your supply go down over time. Well it definitely is not affecting mine! I am pretty sure I could feed a small village of infants with my supply. We are pretty much out of freezer space for food because it is full of milk bags. In fact, I could probably give up now and have enough frozen milk to last him until he’s a year old like I plan to. But I wouldn’t do that. I enjoy nursing, just not pumping.

Anyone else in the same boat? Feel free to share your pumping/nursing gripes with me 🙂

Leave a Reply

